How to Get Your Title in Idaho
If you’re looking to sell your car in Idaho, the first thing you’ll need is the title. Are you confused trying to navigate the Idaho Transportation Department website? We have a handy guide here of all the steps you’ll need to take and fees you’ll need to pay. Check it out below:
Have you Idaho driver’s license and your credit/debit card handy before beginning this process. It’ll make everything go much more smoothly if you have the basics right in front of you.
You’ll also need the bill of sale for the vehicle. The only exception for having this document is if you have the original title for the vehicle and the seller listed the sales price on the original title.
If your vehicle is under 10 years old and weighs less than 16,000 lbs. G.V.W., you’ll need an Odometer Disclosure, with that information listed on your title.
You’ll also need a Vehicle Identification Number Inspection. This can be performed by a DMV employee, an officer of the law, military police, or an Idaho licensed vehicle dealer. Note: there is a $5 fee that goes along with the inspection, so be prepared for that!
Other fees that are part of the territory for getting your title in Idaho include:
- A sales tax of 6% of the purchase price of the vehicle, or documentation that at least 6% sales tax was paid to the state of purchase
- A $14 title fee
- Make sure you pay the registration fee for your vehicle
- Also note that you have 30 days to have your title transferred after purchasing the vehicle or satisfying your lien, or else you’ll be charged an additional $20 late fee, on top of the other costs
- If you want to get your title in a hurry, you can pay an additional $26 in rush processing
Follow all of these steps and you’ll be on your way to being the proud owner of your vehicle’s title!
Please note that this information is subject to change and is for informational purposes only. Be sure to check with your local DMV to make sure that all processes are the same, or you can visit the Idaho DMW page.